Learning from Children

I absolutely love kids. Children are my passion. Ask Mr. Rockefeller… if there is a baby in the room, good luck getting me to focus on anything else. They make me so happy and they’re so darn cute! But have you ever thought about how much we can learn about God from kids?

Luke 18:15-17 says “People were also bringing babies to Jesus for him to place his hands on them. When the disciples saw this, they rebuked them. But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

Children have so much to learn, but they haven’t been fully corrupted by society yet. Children are honest (which can be pretty humorous) and humble. They are loving and teachable. They need love and they need help with things, but they’re not too proud to ask for it. They’re innocent (well, sometimes; at least the babies are). Children can be meek. They’re joyful! They give up their power to whoever is taking care of them. That is why Jesus tells us to be like them! We need to give our power up to God. We need to be teachable and meek and humble.

It’s also amazing to see the way that sin starts to come out in children, even from the very beginning. It’s like they can’t control it. It’s so sad, but you can really learn about human nature and sinfulness by watching a child. This is why it is so important to guide children toward God. You can see the path that they could go down, no matter how good of a kid they are. There are several verses in the Bible about raising children, especially disciplining them and teaching them to follow God.

Just spend some time with a child, whether it’s a baby or a 7 year old. I know that other people don’t love kids as much as I do, but my heart is instantly warmed by a child. I can’t help but smile! Try to think about what a miracle it is for a person to even come into the world. God created an incredibly intricate (and painful), but perfect way for children to be conceived, carried, and born. Right after a child comes into the world, you can see them beginning to learn. You’ll be amazed at how quickly they grow and how they figure new things out. It is awesome to see. It makes you think about how amazing our God is!

Then there’s being a parent. I don’t have any kids yet, but I can only imagine how children can affect one’s relationship with God. Talk to any parent out there and I’m sure that they will tell you that having a child changed them. They learned from being a parent. Ask them what their child taught them and I’m sure you’ll find a few more indicators that God uses children to turn people toward Him.

Even if you don’t really like kids (I think you’re crazy), remember that God told us to be like children, so try to observe them. Humble yourself to their level. You won’t truly understand until you’re really around babies and small children. Give it a chance and see all that you can learn from them…..then send them over to me and I’ll spend time with them and love them, because that’s what God has called me to do and almost nothing makes me happier!

 

 

Featured photo from Christian-parents.net.

Leave a Reply

