The Things of This World

The other day, I had a prayer just pop into my head. My heart was saying the prayer before I had even processed it. It was “God, help me to be unsatisfied with the things of this world.”

Saying the prayer gave me a sense of burden and relief all at once. It felt like I was going to need to make some changes, but it was going to be exactly what I needed.

I’ve repeated the prayer a few times since then because I’m still working on giving up on worldly things (images, ideas, lies, money, music, drama, etc. that bring me to sin or are not pleasing to God), and I know that I need God’s help to do it.

I don’t know if I could ever give up every worldly thing because I am constantly bombarded with new things to struggle with, but I can already see God answering my prayer. I’ve been finding a lot of joy in listening to my local Christian radio station more than I listen to other stations. I had this app on my phone that had a bunch of memes that I loved looking at, but some of the content was inappropriate sometimes. This content that was mixed in with the funny jokes was not pleasing to God. A couple of days after first saying this prayer, I looked down at my phone that I was holding and I had accidentally been pushing buttons. On the screen it said “Are you sure you want to delete ifunny?” I said to myself, “Ok God! I hear ya!” and I deleted it.

We need to be aware of worldly things, but my prayer is to be dissatisfied with these things. I need to know what non-Christians are experiencing to connect with them, but I do not need to find my pleasure in these things. I want to find all of my joy in God and his blessings. I want to seek the things that bring Him joy. I don’t want to allow the things of this world to draw me away and distract me from Him. I have a long way to go and this is going to take a lot of practice, but I plan to continue to ask God to help me find job in whatever brings Him joy.

1 John 2:15-17 Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world- the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions- is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.

Leave a Reply

